National Center for Education Information

Home
Overview
Surveys
Publications
Resources
Statistics
Alternate Routes
Order Products
About Us
Contact

Alaska Department of Education Teacher Ed & Certification

801 West Tenth Street
Suite 200
Juneau, AK 99801-1984
Attn: Cynthia Curran, Administrator
(907) 465-2831

cynthia_curran@ed.state.ak.us
Alabama Department of Education

5201 Gordon Persons Building
50 N. Ripley St.
P.O. Box 302101
Montgomery, AL 36130-2101
Attn.: June H. Mabry
(334) 242-9977
Fax: (334) 242-0498
tcert@alsde.edu
Arkansas Department of Education

ADE-Non-Traditional Licensure Program
501 Woodlane
Little Rock, AR 72201
Attn: Ann DeLoney, Program Advisor
(501) 371-1580
Ann.DeLoney@arkedu.k12.ar.us
Arizona Department of Education Teacher Certification Unit

1535 West Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Attn: Janet Pentek
(602) 364-1385
jpentek@ade.az.gov
California Commission on Teacher Credentialing

1900 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95814-4213
Attn: Michael McKibbin
(916) 445-4438
mmckibbin@ctc.ca.gov or http://www.cde.ca.gov
Colorado Department of Education

Office of Professional Services and Educator Licen
201 E. Colfax Avenue, Room 105
Denver, CO 80203
Attn: Bridget Collins-Sullivan
(303) 866-6628, press 0(zero)
collins-sullivan_b@cde.state.co.us
Connecticut Bureau of Certification & Preparation Development

P.O. Box 150471
Hartford, CT 06115-0471
Attn: Nancy L. Puglese
(860) 713-6708
teacher.cert@po.state.ct.us
District of Columbia Department of Education

Education Credentialing and Standards Branch
825 North Captiol Street, NE, Sixth Floor
Washington, DC 20002-4232
Attn: Ken Bungert
(202) 442-5377
no email available at this time
Delaware Alternate Routes to Certification

University of Delaware
Delaware Center for Teacher Education
Williard Hall
Newark, DE 19711
Linda Hughes, Ph.D.
(302) 831-4598 or 831-1100
artc-de@udel.edu or http://www.udel.edu/artc
Delaware Department of Education

Townsend Building
P.O. Box 1402
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 739-4686
http://www.doe.state.de.us
Florida Department of Education

Bureau of Educator Certification
325 West Gaines Street
Turlington Building Room 201
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Eileen McDaniel
Attn: Bethany Bowman
(850) 245-0568
emcdaniel@gamet.acns.fsu.edu or Bethany.Bowman@fldoe.org or http://www.altcertflorida.org/
Georgia Professional Standards Commission

2 Peachtree Street, Suite 6000
Atlanta, GA 30303
Attn: Cynthia Stephens
(404) 657-9014
cyndy.stephens@gapsc.com
Hawaii Teacher Standards Board

650 Iwilei Road, Suite 201
Honolulu, HI 96817
Attn: Lynn Hammonds
(808) 586-2619
lynn_hammonds@htsb.org
Iowa Board of Educational Examiners

Grimes State Office Building
East 14th and Grand
Des Moines, IA 50319
Attn: Anne E. Kruse
(515) 281-3611
Anne.kruse@ed.state.ia.us
Idaho Department of Education

Teacher Education/Professional Standards
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Attn: Michael P. Stefanic
(208) 332-6800
MStefanic@sde.state.id.us
Illinois State Department of Education

Certification and Professional Development
100 North First Street, S-306
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
Attn: Martha (Marti) A. Woelfle
(217) 782-7091
Fax: (217) 782-3687
profprep@isbe.net
Indiana Professional Standards Board

251 W. Ohio Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204-1953
Attn: Marie Theobald
(317) 232-9010
MTheobald@psb.state.in.us
Kansas Department of Education

Teacher Education and Licensure
120 East Tenth Street
Topeka, KS 66612
Attn: Dr. Martha Gage, Director of Teacher Education and Licensure
(785) 296-8012
mgage@ksde.org
Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board

100 Airport Road, 3rd Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Attn: Cindy Godsey
(502) 564-4606
(888) 598-7667
Fax: (502) 564-7092
Cindy.Godsey@ky.gov
Louisiana Department of Education

Teacher Certification and Higher Education
P.O. Box 44064
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Attn: Stan Beaubouef
(504) 342-3490
stan.beaubouef@la.gov
Massachusetts Department of Education Bureau of Educator Certification

350 Main Street
Malden, MA 02148
Attn: Marion Gillon
(781) 338-6624
mgillon@doe.mass.edu or http://www.doe.mass.edu/educators
Maryland Department of Education Teacher Education/Certification

200 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Attn: Norma Allen
Virginia Pilato
(410) 767-0391
Fax: (410) 767-0390
nallen@msde.state.md.us
Maine Department of Education Certification Office

23 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0023
Attn: Nancy Ibarguen
(207) 624-6603
nancy.ibarguen@state.me.us
Michigan Department of Education

Office of Professional Preparation Service
P.O. Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48909
Attn: Frank Ciloski
(517) 373-6791
Fax: (517) 373-0542
ciloskif@michigan.gov
Minnesota Board of Teaching

1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113
Attn: Dr. George Maurer
(651) 582-8833
George.Maurer@state.mn.us
Missouri Department of Education

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Attn: J. Mike Lucas
(573) 751-0371
http://dese.mo.gov/divteachqual/teached/index.cfm
Mississippi Department of Education Office of Educator Licensure

P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Attn: Dixon Mills, Director
(601) 359-3483
dmills@mde.k12.ms.us
Montana Teacher Education/Certification

Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620-2501
Attn: Elizabeth Keller
(406) 444-3150
Fax: (406) 444-2893
ekeller@state.mt.us
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Division of Human Resource Management
6330 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6330
Attn: Van Brock Murray
(919) 807-3321
BMurray@dpi.state.nc.us
North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board

600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0540
Attn: Janet Placek, Executive Director
Deb Jensen, Assistant Director
(701) 328-1659
(701) 328-2815
jwelk@state.nd.us
Nebraska Department of Education Teacher Education/Certification

P. O. Box 94987
301 Centennial Mall Square
Lincoln, NE 68509
Attn: Demaris Grant
(402) 471-2496
(402) 471-0739
Fax: (402) 471-9735
grantda@unk.edu
New Hampshire Department of Education Bureau of Credentialing

101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
Attn: Robin Warner
(603) 271-4196
RWarner@ed.state.nh.us
New Jersey Department of Education

Public Office of Licensure and Credentials
P.O. Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
Attn: Joan E. Brady
(609) 292-2045
No email available at this time
New Mexico Public Education Department

Professional Licensure Unit
300 Don Gasper
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
Attn: Bernadette Bach
(505) 827-6587
Fax: (505) 827-4148
bbach@sde.state.nm.us
Nevada Department of Education

State Mail Room
1820 E. Sahara #205
Las Vegas, NV 89104-3746
Attn: Chopin Kiang
(702) 486-6458
ckiang@nsn.k12.nv.us
New York Office of College and University Evaluation

5 N Mezzanine, Education Building
Albany, NY 12234
Attn: Ruth L. Pagerey
(518) 474-1914
rpagerey@mail.nysed.gov
Ohio Department of Education

Center for the Teaching Profession
Office of Certification and Licensure
25 S. Front Street, Mail Stop 105
Columbus, OH 43215
Attn: Leonard Crawford
(614) 466-3593
leonard.crawford@ode.oh.us
Oklahoma Department of Education Professional Standards Section

Teacher Education/Certification
2500 N. Lincoln Boulevard, Room 211
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Attn: Cindy Marose
(405) 521-3337
Fax: (405) 522-1520
cindy_Marose@sde.state.ok.us
Oregon Teacher Standards/Practices

465 Commercial Street, NE
Public Service Bldg., Suite 105
Salem, OR 97301
Attn: Keith Menk
(503) 378-3757
Keith.Menk@state.or.us
Pennsylvania Department of Education Bureau of Certification

333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17108
Attn: Marjorie Blaze
(717) 783-9252
(717) 783-6736
mblaze@state.pa.us
Rhode Island Department of Education

Office of Teacher Preparation
Certification and Professsional Development
255 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 02903
Attn: Joseph Gaudiosi
(401) 274600, ext. 2254
ride1512@ride.ri.net
South Carolina Department of Education

Division of Teacher Quality
Landmark II Office Building
3700 Forest Drive, Suite 500
Columbia, SC 29204
Attn: Sandra Rowe
Falicia Harvey
(803) 734-2758
FHarvey@scteachers.org
South Dakota Department of Education

Office of Accreditation and Teacher Quality
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Attn: Melody Schopp
(605) 773-5232
Fax: (605) 773-6139
Melody.Schopp@state.sd.us
Tennessee Department of Education

Teacher Licensing
5th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0377
Attn: Vance Rugaard
(615) 532-4880
Vance.rugaard@state.tn.us
Texas State Board for Educator Certification

1701 N. Congress Ave. 5th Floor
Austin, TX 78748
Herman L. Smith, Ph.D., Executive Director
(512) 936-8304
Herman.Smith@sbec.state.tx.us
Utah State Office of Education Division of Teacher Certification

250 East Fifth South
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Attn: Ronald Stanfield
Diane DeMan
(801) 538-7741
Fax: (801) 538-7973
rstanfie@usoe.k12.ut.us
Virginia Dept. of Education Division of Teacher Education and Licensure

P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
Attn: Thomas A. Elliott
Patty S. Pitts
(804) 371-2471
telliott@mail.vak12ed.edu or ppitts@mail.vak12ed.edu
Vermont Department of Education

Educational Resources Unit
State Department of Education
Montpelier, VT 05602
Attn: Patricia Pallas
(802) 828-2445
ppallas@doe.state.vt.us
Washington Professional Educator Standards Board

Old Capitol Building, P.O. Box 47236
Olympia, WA 98504-7200
Attn: Lin Douglas
(360) 725-6275
ldouglas@ospi.wednet.edu
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Bureau of Teacher Education Licensing and Placemen
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Attn: Laurie Derse
(608) 266-1028
laurie.derse@dpi.state.wi.us
West Virginia Department of Education

Capitol Complex
Building #6, Room 337
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
Attn: Jerry Hurley
(304) 558-7010
(800) 982-2378
jlhurley@access.k12.wv.us
Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board

2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0190
Attn: Linda Stowers
(307) 777-6261
lstowe@missc.state.wy.us
If you wish to purchase this report, which details all of the states' requirements and program descriptions for alternative routes toward certification, send $110, plus $10 for shipping and handling. If you are interested in only certain states, send $13.00 for the first state and $6.00 for each additional state to: NCEI, 4401-A Connecticut Ave., N.W., #212, Washington, DC 20008. For credit card orders (VISA and MasterCard), telephone (202) 362-3444 or FAX to (202) 822-8284 or order directly from our Web sites: http://www.ncei.com or http://www.teach-now.org.



©Copyright 2007, The National Center for Education Information, All Rights Reserved.